English

The High School English Department focuses on the four major components of the English language:

  • Reading
  • Writing
  • Research
  • Communication
Mastering literacy skills is imperative for all students. We prepare our students for a life of learning through studying various literature genres and completing a variety of writing assignments and research projects. In addition, students practice both written and oral communication skills.


When I look back, I am so impressed again with the life-giving power
of literature. If I were a young person today, trying to gain a sense
of myself in the world, I would do that again by reading, just as I did when I was young.

- Maya Angelou

Language Arts Department


Michelle Bingaman
(717) 597-3226 ext. 10204
sbingaman@gcasd.org

Rebecca Rice
(717) 597-3226 ext. 10205
rrice@gcasd.org


Brandon Solomon
(717) 597-3226 ext. 10211
bsolomon@gcasd.org

Marci Stover
(717) 597-3226 ext. 10207
mstover@gcasd.org

Glory Sterling
(717) 597-3226 ext. 10201
gsterling@gcasd.org

David Strausbaugh
(717) 597-3226 ext. 10202
dstrausbaugh@gcasd.org

Ross Winegardner
(717) 597-3226 ext. 10209
rwinegardner@gcasd.org