Special Education

Welcome to GAHS Special Education

Our program offers an alternative curriculum that parallels with the regular education curriculum for science, social studies, and English. In addition to our replacement math class, students participating in the regular education curriculum for math and English may also benefit from inclusion in a co-teaching environment with a regular education teacher and a learning support teacher.

We also offer a Transition Skills class for 9th graders and provide enrichment classes in math and reading. Our support periods provide ongoing assistance in a structured, small group setting. Our students may attend the Franklin County Career and Technology Center, where they also receive learning support services. Our seniors have the opportunity to participate in a work study program.


Our goal is to help all students see beyond the stereotypes and myths about learning differences and understand that with perseverance, a positive attitude and appropriate help, people with learning differences can soar. Everyone faces challenges and problems. Success lies in how you deal with them.

 


Human Service Agencies

Franklin/Fulton County ARC
(717) 264-4390

Franklin/Fulton County
Developmental Disabilities Office

(717) 709-4321

Franklin County Children & Youth
(717) 263-1900

Franklin County Information & Referral
(717) 261-2561

Parent Education Network

SAM Service Access and Management, Inc.
(717) 261-1555

Bureau of Special Education Consult Line
(800) 879-2301

Special Kids Network
(800) 986-4550

 

Multidisciplinary Team

Dr. Robert Crider
Chief Educational Officer
(717) 597-3226 ext. 50512
bcrider@gcasd.org

Mr. Edward Rife
Principal
(717) 597-3226 ext. 10502
erife@gcasd.org

Mr. Gerald Crable
Assistant Principal
(717) 597-3226 ext. 10505
gcrable@gcasd.org

Mrs. Christine Reiber
Assistant Principal
(717) 597-3226 ext. 10505
creiber@gcasd.org

Mrs. Diane Reed
Guidance Counselor
(717) 597-3226 ext. 10523
dreed@gcasd.org

Mrs. Jenniffer Everetts
Guidance Counselor
(717) 597-3226 ext. 10522
jeveretts@gcasd.org

Mr. Jeff Longfellow
School Psychologist
(717) 597-3226 ext.30521
jlongfellow@gcasd.org

Mrs. Connie Caldwell
Learning Support Teacher
(717) 597-3226 ext. 10120
ccaldwell@gcasd.org

Ms. Crystal Kump
Learning Support Teacher
(717) 597-3226 ext. 10581
ckump@gcasd.org

Mr. Curtis Martin
Emotional Support Teacher
(717) 597-3226 ext. 10592
cmartin@gcasd.org

Mr. Eric Vogel
Learning Support Teacher
(717) 597-3227 ext. 10118
evogel@gcasd.org

Mrs. Susan Purnell
Speech and Language Therapist
(717) 597-3226 ext. 30178
spurnell@gcasd.org


Mrs. Carolyn Doncheski
Occupational Therapist
(717) 597-3226 ext. 40298
cdoncheski@gcasd.org

Mrs. Meredith Ankerbrand
Physical Therapist
(717) 263-5147
mankerbrand@physicaltherapyetc.com